Big Sur

The last weekend in April Lisa and I made a trip to California for a couple of reasons. One, we wanted to get away one last time before the baby comes and two it was time for me to run another marathon. We found decent airfare to San Francisco and we had heard really good things about the Big Sur Marathon and there were still a few spots open so we made the decision to do it ( not really like us to do it, but we did). On Sunday morning I got up at 3:00 am in order to catch a bus at 3:45 to shuttle me to the starting line. Once I got to the starting line, I then waited for an hour and a half in 45 Degree weather for the race to start. Sounds like how most people want to start their Sunday. It gets better though, because after that I got to run 26.2 miles to where I started from at 3:45am. Actually, I enjoyed the run up there more than I did the ride on the bus. I was almost sick because of the winding roads. The run was along scenic highway 1 between Big Sur and Carmel California. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. However, the course was very difficult (windy + hilly = difficult). From mile 10 to mile 12 it was all up hill. At the top of that hill was a place called hurricane point. There was a shirt at the race expo that said “I survived Hurricane Point”. I was feeling pretty good when I got to the top of it. But the hills didn’t stop there. It was like each additional hill took just a little more out of you. By mile 22/23 my knees felt pretty unstable and it felt like on every downhill I might fall. So I decided to walk the downhills and run the uphills (seems backwards I know). I finished in 4:01 which is about 6-7 minutes slower than my last marathon but I think overall I felt better after it and I am definitely recovering quicker. I didn’t really “hit a wall” in this one like I did in Nashville at mile 20 so that is progress as well. I will post some pictures later and I’m sure Lisa will updat the rest of the trip.

~ by jmm2 on May 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Big Sur”

  1. Excellent job 🙂

  2. So glad ya’ll had the opportunity to do that and I’m glad you were pleased with the marathon. Looks like an overall great memory. Rosanna

Leave a Reply

 
